VaHerps.com
Welcome to VaHerps!!

Please feel free to create an account and post to the discussion and classified forums. If you have any problems registering, please email me at Focal@VaHerps.com

User accounts must be activated by Admin and may be delayed. Please do NOT create a second account if you already have one and contact the email above for any questions.

Thanks!

Every right implies a responsibility; Every opportunity, an obligation; Every possession, a duty. -John D. Rockefeller
 
HomeHome  PortalPortal  FAQFAQ  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Share | 
 

 Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Jabberwocky Dragons
VaHerp Board Member+
VaHerp Board Member+
avatar

Posts : 888

PostSubject: Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)   Fri Nov 18, 2011 11:42 am

I just wanted to get everyone's thoughts on Spieds and multicombo spieds such as Killerbee Pieds. I thought it was pretty neat that the whole body but the head is pied white when crossed with Spider but only the head changes when more genes are added.

I haven't seen many of these for sale... do you think its because they take longer to produce or that they're not as interesting as other morphs that make such incredible full body changes? I suppose a male (or female) killerbee pied would make a powerful breeder though for a huge variety of crosses.

Are there any gene combos that cancel out the white pied spider body?
Back to top Go down
http://www.JabberwockyDragons.com
Don
Moderator
Moderator


Posts : 2130

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)   Fri Nov 18, 2011 11:50 am

I'm working on the first step right now with my Pied male and Spider female. They have been locking consistently and I hope to get a nice clutch of double hets out of them this year. I think a lot of people hold these animals back so they can go for bumblebee pieds or other combinations.

I'm also pairing my pied with an albino female - another hot combination.
Back to top Go down
http://www.PlethoraOfPythons.com
Jabberwocky Dragons
VaHerp Board Member+
VaHerp Board Member+
avatar

Posts : 888

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)   Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:27 pm

That sounds awesome. So it's still a relatively new cross and that's why there's not a lot out on the market (everyone's holding theirs back). The pied albino sounds like a killer cross too.
Back to top Go down
http://www.JabberwockyDragons.com
Don
Moderator
Moderator


Posts : 2130

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)   Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:56 pm

Yes, that is what I'm thinking. I know that Carl Gilmore has produced lightening pieds (Axanthic Pieds) that are stunning. I'm also growing up some AX females to work on that project.
Back to top Go down
http://www.PlethoraOfPythons.com
Focal
VaHerps Janitor
VaHerps Janitor
avatar

Posts : 4872

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)   Fri Nov 18, 2011 3:18 pm

Have you seen the panda pieds before? The ones that I have seen are mostly white with black patches. I think the head is white though. Kind of the reverse of a tradition pied.
Back to top Go down
http://www.FocalBallsAndBoas.webs.com
Don
Moderator
Moderator


Posts : 2130

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)   Fri Nov 18, 2011 3:22 pm

Outback produced the only Panda Pied that I know of. It is a beautiful snake and it even has developed a patch over one eye.
Back to top Go down
http://www.PlethoraOfPythons.com
Focal
VaHerps Janitor
VaHerps Janitor
avatar

Posts : 4872

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)   Fri Nov 18, 2011 3:28 pm

Don wrote:
Outback produced the only Panda Pied that I know of. It is a beautiful snake and it even has developed a patch over one eye.

Yeah I think most of the pictures might have been the same snake. I'll try to find the link but I believe it was produced in Germany too.
Back to top Go down
http://www.FocalBallsAndBoas.webs.com
Focal
VaHerps Janitor
VaHerps Janitor
avatar

Posts : 4872

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)   Fri Nov 18, 2011 3:36 pm

Can't find a link, I may be wrong on that one :/
Back to top Go down
http://www.FocalBallsAndBoas.webs.com
Mike.OutbackReptiles
Established Member
Established Member


Posts : 87

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)   Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:21 am

Yup the only one I know of is the one we produced a couple years ago. pics are all over google:







Here's the next best thing to a panda... our super black het pied that has a massive ringer:

Back to top Go down
http://www.facebook.com/the.surreal.deal
pksnipr
VaHerps Crew
VaHerps Crew
avatar

Posts : 181

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)   Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:41 pm

those two are MEAN looking Very Happy
Back to top Go down
Jabberwocky Dragons
VaHerp Board Member+
VaHerp Board Member+
avatar

Posts : 888

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)   Sun Nov 20, 2011 5:11 pm

Incredible snakes, I saw the panda pied on fauna not too long ago and immediately fell in love with it.

Could the white band in the second pic be because it's het pied? I realize het pied is not visual but could the Super black pastel genes interact with pied in such a way that it creates a visual for het pieds?
Back to top Go down
http://www.JabberwockyDragons.com
smd58
VaHerp Board Member
VaHerp Board Member
avatar

Posts : 2909

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)   Sun Nov 20, 2011 6:09 pm

First time Ive seen the black ringer, like it a lot.
Back to top Go down
Mike.OutbackReptiles
Established Member
Established Member


Posts : 87

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)   Sun Nov 20, 2011 9:30 pm

Jabberwocky Dragons wrote:
Incredible snakes, I saw the panda pied on fauna not too long ago and immediately fell in love with it.

Could the white band in the second pic be because it's het pied? I realize het pied is not visual but could the Super black pastel genes interact with pied in such a way that it creates a visual for het pieds?

Ringers in themselves don't mean much. But a lot of the time certain morphs will have them more often than others... I.e. yellowbellies often have ringer marks. Het pieds sometimes get them too. If you have a clutch of poss het pieds, it would be a smart move to try to prove out anything with a ringer before any other snakes. It's not 100% though, I've seen plenty of het pieds without a ringer and i've seen plenty of normal ball pythons with big white rings on their tails Razz
Back to top Go down
http://www.facebook.com/the.surreal.deal
DaganGecko
VaHerp Board Member
VaHerp Board Member
avatar

Posts : 1109

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)   Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:17 am

Wow I've never seen your snake, Mike. I'm quite surprised seeing how popular the other is. I like yours better! Very Happy
Back to top Go down
http://www.iherp.com/Public/ShowUser.aspx?UserId=5fb7c078-e6af-4
Mike.OutbackReptiles
Established Member
Established Member


Posts : 87

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)   Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:48 pm

DaganGecko wrote:
Wow I've never seen your snake, Mike. I'm quite surprised seeing how popular the other is. I like yours better! Very Happy

trying so hard not to make this a dirty joke
Back to top Go down
http://www.facebook.com/the.surreal.deal
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)   

Back to top Go down
 
Opinions on Spieds (Pieds x Spiders)
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» My friendĀ“s spiders Poecilotheria metallica, Pamphobeteus ultramarinus
» uk spiders
» Thousands of baby Spiders Released
» spiders
» Opinions on newborns colors

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
VaHerps.com :: General Discussion Forums :: Snake/Lizard/Gecko Discussion-
Jump to: